Ten 1st claim riders from Thanet Road Club (TRC) stepped up for what was to be the Veteran Time Trial Association (VTTA) Kent 25 mile TT on Sunday 13th September 2020.

They were joined by four 2nd claim members making up a field just short of 100 riders.

Due to the unavailability of enough event marshals and the closure of the level crossing down to Brooklands the course was shortened to around 21 miles, missing out the Brooklands leg and the part from Bridgefield RAB to Kingsnorth.

Once again it was great to see a good field and so many TRC riders and helpers.

Thanks to Bob Giles and all the helpers from VTTA Kent and marshals who turned out early on a Sunday to run a well organised event on the course- particularly managing the crossing closure that appeared on Sunday morning.

Christine Burrows was start timekeeper and I saw Andy McCall and Sue Shields at Brenzett RAB (Thanks TRC helpers)

Conditions were similar to a few weeks ago, except a little bit less breeze. It was dry and warm with a breeze from the south west. Again the help appeared variable on the leg to Ashford and the return. The only place I noticed a head wind was from 2nd to last bend to the last bend in the road as you approach Brenzett RAB.

Traffic was fairly busy, although I was a reasonably late starter.

This all produced some very respectable times for the club.

Nic Fennell was our fastest finisher with a 42:51, coming home 4th – well done Nic.

Brother, Chris Fennell (Independent Pedlars- Nopinz) was the fastest on scratch with a 39:44, averaging over 31mph!

In this veterans event Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Rule 5) took the honours as the fastest vet with a 44:14 (+12:06)

Second claim member Mark Hill (VeloRefined Rule 5) was 3rd fastest vet and picked up the fastest vet team prize with Andrew.

TRC 1st claim results, start order:

Mike Perry 01:06:31

Rob Milnes 50:36

Chris Bax 54:21

Colin Newton DNS

Andy Burrows 59:05

Paul Burrows 46:11

Susan Walbrook DNS

Simon Henderson 47:41

Paul Kirkness DNS

Nic Fennell 42:51

TRC 2nd claim results, start order:

Neil Gerrard (Folkstone Velo Club) 50:04

Stephen Wilkinson (TWB – On Time Race Team ) DNS

Robert Nicholas (Deal Tri) 45:55

Mark Hill (VeloRefined Rule 5) 46:06

Chris Fennell (Independent Pedlars- Nopinz) 39:44

Report based on provisional results.

Apologies for any omissions/ errors.

Simon H.