The club’s popular 4-up team time trial was held in unusual Betteshanger conditions, that is, warm, sunny and light winds! It was held over 7 laps of the Betteshanger CP circuit, which equates to 14.3 miles.

The event was enjoyed by 45 riders, making up teams of 2, 3, and 4 riders. There was a mix of juniors and seniors taking part. As the time for the 4-up teams was taken on the 3rd rider, the results in the attached sheet contain both 3 and 4 man teams. Where a 4th rider became detached, we have also included their times, which were recorded by the time keepers.

The fastest 4-up team was a combination of Adalta CC and VC Deal riders. Toby Anderton, Alex Baker, Rod Archibald and Andy Hill came in with a time of 31.11. In second place with a time of 31.29 was the Folkestone VC team of Gary Pullen, Steve Wilkinson, Colin Newton and Danny Frost. The Thanet RC quartet of Rob Milnes, Mike Kirkness, Rick Perkins and Scott Meeks was third in a time of 31.44. The fastest all women’s team was the Thanet RC team of Catherine Morrell, Jo Smith, Sophie Driscoll and Josie Harcourt with 35.52.

The quickest ride of the evening was actually a 2-up team comprising Thanet RC’s Nic Fennell and Shawn Manning. They stopped the watch at 29.27. The fastest female pairing was the junior team of Ferne Peirce and Millie Dack who covered the course in 43.16.

A big thank you goes to the band of volunteers who turned out to assist. These were Sue Shields, Faye Faiers, Jo Van Velzen, Malcolm Adams, Michael Friend, Andy McCall, Chris Bax, Andrew Morrell and Simon Henderson.

This week’s event is a regular 10 mile time trial.

Report by Dave Mastin.

4-Up 10th July.pdf