TRC 25 Q25/10 Thanet way

A smaller field than previous years entered for the club’s 25 organised by Dave Mastin, with a third of riders from our club

A warm overcast morning greeted the riders – there was some concern the event would be wet following a light shower at the HQ at 05:45 but it came to nothing.

There was a light WSW breeze that didn’t seem to help on any part of the course.

It was great to see so many familiar faces within the club at the marshalling points: John Barton, Brett Dennis, Pete Sayer, Steve Wright, Seb Dickson, Emma Dickson, Mark Huckstep, Teresa Childs and the others I didn’t see.

Starting and time keeping duties were performed by Terry Fearn, Chris Burrows and Andy McCall – who turned out on his birthday!

Thank you to you all from all the riders – without you we would not be able ride – you are our stars ***

Also thanks to our bakers for all the lovely cakes that were greatly appreciated by all.

The field was 54 riders with a smattering of non starters and the favourable condition produced to good times.

Fastest TRC riders home were Bill Hawkes and Simon Henderson who both did 57:06….. how did they do that!

Bill’s time was also a new PB – well done Billie!

Fastest junior was our own Ollie Robinson with a 59:49

Fastest TRC Lady was Jenny Fearn 01:24:11

The fastest ride of the day was from 2nd claimer Chris Fennell (Catford Equipe Banks) who fresh from his 11th in the National TT Championships on Thursday turned in a 51:47, just 1 second outside the course record.

Well done to newcomer Scott Meeks who did a 01:03:47 (PB) in his first 25.

It was great to see many of the riders stay for the presentation afterwards where TRC picked up the team prize (Bill, Simon & Huck Garrip) and Simon the 2nd fastest vet on Standard……………. a good day for TRC.

Today’s event was also for club member to contest the Mike Catlow handicap – a memorial to a former club member.

The winner will be the fastest rider on handicap (see handbook page 9, item 14) and will be published later this week once handicaps are calculated.

TRC times (start order- my interpretation of results board)

Huck Garrip 58:06

Dave Danton: 01:05:34

Simon Henderson: 57:06

Ollie Robinson: 59:49

Paul Kelk: 01:06:29

Pete Huckstep: 01:08:41

Bill Hawkes: 57:06

Jim Dickson: 01:02:55

Jenny Fearne: 01:24:11

Olly Dickson: 01:06:47

Chris Childs: 01:08:01

Scott Meeks: 01:03:47

Paul Griffiths: 01:12:52

Colin Robinson: 01:02:40

Andy Burrows: 01:07:09

Michael Friend: 01:04:30

Colin Inett: 01:11:25

Martin Russell: 01:05:22

Nic Fennell: 01:07:04

Post from Simon Henderson