The final RTTC Championships Time Trial event of the season concludes for the 4th time at Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit for the Closed Circuit Championship. Hosted by Antelope RT. With 300 riders on the start sheet, including 80 juniors, 80 women and 200 men. This event also uses transponders for timing..

The course is held on the Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit, all riders complete 5 laps of the circuit which totals 11.5 miles of racing. Being a motor racing circuit, it’s closed off from all traffic and is wide sweeping road with only two chicanes which don’t pose much challenge on a bike, and a rise on the end section of the lap which drags during the race.

The weather conditions were dry and mild with a western wind meant a head wind up the back straight and the hill.

Thanet Road Club had four riders at this event; Adrian Hawkins, Seb Dickson, Chris and Nic Fennell. A good showing for Thanet at this National event.

Results of Thanet Riders was:
Adrian Hawkins – 26:39 – 61st* (8th in age group)
Chris Fennell – 23:01 – 2nd
Nic Fennell – 24:09 – 14th*
Seb Dickson – (23:41) awaiting official result from a late start*

The winner of the event was Paul Elcock (AS Test Team) with a time of 22:48 2nd – Chris Fennell (Thanet RC) – 23:01
3rd – Jason Bouttel (Team Velovelocity) – 23:02

Well done Chris for this excellent result at the National level!

Other local riders included:
Kevin Tye (VeloRefined Aerosmiths) – 23:38 – 8th
Andrew Meilak (VeloRefined Aerosmiths) – 24:30 – 19th*
Emma Lewis (Bowlphish Racing) – 25:18 – Joint 1st Women. An excellent ride by Emma defending her title to top the Women’s event. Big congratulations!

Chris and Nic Fennell would also like to thank Alan and Paul at SPCycles for all their support this season.

*All results are awaiting confirmation.
Report by Nic Fennell