The first of the 2024 evening time trials was held at Betteshanger CP in cold and breezy conditions.  The weather had quite an impact on the times of all riders, being quite a bit slower than they had hoped for.

We had 14 riders sign on for this first event, of which just 3 were juniors and the remaining 11 were seniors.  It was no surprise that fastest junior rider was Dougie Tulett with 24.27, with VC Deal’s Toby Clayson second in a time of 28.33.  Third place and fastest girl was Alice Tulett with a time of 35.02.

Regarding the senior riders, first place went to second claim member Lance Childs with a very respectable time of 21.21, with Simon Henderson in second and fastest of the Thanet RC riders in 25.00.  Simon was handicapped by having to ride in one gear, having an equipment problem.  New second claim member Maria Sparks of Ashford Wheelers was fastest women in a good time of 26.06, ahead of Faye Faiers, who topped the times for the Thanet RC women with 28.00.

As always, we must thank our band of helpers who ensure that the event can take place.  This week, they were Caroline Rigby, Teresa Childs, Terry Fearn, Malcolm Adams, Michael Friend, Andy McCall and Dave Mastin.

Senior Riders
Pos’n Name Club Time
1 Lance Childs TAAP Kalas 21.21
2 Simon Henderson Thanet RC 25.00
3 Steve Wright Thanet RC 25.47
4 Maria Sparks Ashford Wheelers 26.06
5 Faye Faiers Thanet RC 28.00
6 Pete Huckstep Thanet RC 29.05
7 Fiona Flaherty Thanet RC 31.27
8 Mark Sandum Thanet RC 31.57
9 Paul Griffiths Thanet RC 33.28
10 Shay Giles Thanet RC 34.42
11 Jenny Fearn Thanet RC 37.48
Junior Riders
Pos’n Name Club Time
1 Dougie Tulett Thanet RC 24.27
2 Toby Clayson VC Deal 28.33
3 Alice Tulett Thanet RC 35.02