The Kent Group of the VTTA hosted the VTTA National 30 mile time trial championship on the Hamstreet bypass course between Brookland and Kingsnorth, Ashford. A number of club first and second claim members took part on a bright but chilly morning, with a brisk northerly breeze making the leg to Ashford a challenge.

The new VTTA 30 mile champion is Kent Group member Kevin Tye (VeloRefined), who received his award from Carole Gandy. Kevin’s time was 1.04.08 giving a plus of 18.59. Kevin was also a member of the Kent Group which won the team of three award, along with Bronwen Ewing and second claim member Jon Parker. Fastest ride of the day was by Andy Jackson (SSLL Racing Team) with 1.02.36; he managed to catch Dave Mastin for a minute in less than 4 minutes!

Club times in start order:-
Andy McCall: 1.25.00
Colin Robinson: 1.18.34
Huck Garip: 1.11.09
Simon Henderson: 1.09.19
Ollie Robinson: 1.12.25
Jon Parker (2nd claim): 1.03.30
Chris Bax (2nd claim): 1.16.28
Dave Mastin: 1.22.42

Report by Dave Mastin.