It was a long journey up to the Isle of Grain for a large number of club riders to ride the VTTA Kent 10 mile TT, organised by Val Peachey. In total, 21 club members entered the event, out of a field of 56. In that large group of club members, it was encouraging to see no fewer than 7 women taking part.

Conditions were quite challenging with a stiff headwind on the return leg, not helped by the exposed nature of the course. In particular, the last two miles into Grain were tough. The club had some success with Nic Fennell coming first on scratch with an impressive 21.01. There were no separate women’s prizes, and I don’t know who won the vets standards prizes, as these were not displayed on the results board.

Club times in start order:-

Andy Burrows: 29.34
Toby Yemm: 26.42
Matt Hall: 26.26
Josie Harcourt: 29.27
Faye Faiers: 28.48
Dave Mastin: 28.44
Adrian Hawkins: 22.36
Scott Meeks: 23.28
Paul Kirkness: 26.02
Di Yemm: 30.53
Rob Milnes: 23.23
Sophie Driscoll: 28.10
Chris Bax (2nd claim): 25.49
Colin Inett: 29.29
Catherine Morrell: 27.27
Jo Smith: 25.30
Grant Cousins: 25.13
Abby Langley: 26.00
Nic Fennell: 21.01 (1st on scratch)
Simon Charles: 27.55
Andy McCall DNS.

Report by Dave Mastin.