Catford CC 25 Q25/12 Old Romney

12 TRC riders signed up for the Catford CC 25 Q25/12 Old Romney (Up /down Hamstreet Bypass)

Conditions were dry and reasonably warm after some overnight rain. This may have detered several riders as there were 16 non starters in a strong field of 82

TRC timekeeper Chris Burrows got the proceedings under way.

5th TRC rider to start was Funding Officer David Robert in his first open 25. David recorded a 01:14:39.

Conditions were good but there was a keen NW breeze that hampered progress from Brooklands to the turn and Kingsnorth RAB.

There was benefit to be had on the return leg with the riders relishing the cross tail wind.

Listed as the Dave Marshal Open 25 (the event award), the TRC riders were also contesting Vince Evan Memorial Cup for the fastest TRC rider.

This was closely contested again this year with Simon Henderson taking the honours just 21 second ahead of Huck Garrip.

The event winner was Kevin Tye Aerosmiths with a 51:58 breaking the course record by 21 seconds!

My interpretation of the results board:

TRC time in start order

Paul Kelk Thanet RC 01:07:51
Bill Hawkes Thanet RC DNS
Dan Martin Thanet RC 00:58:25
Lawrence Martin Thanet RC 00:59:19
Oliver Dickson Thanet RC 01:06:07
David Robert Thanet RC 01:14:39
Huck Garip Thanet RC 00:57:35
James Dickson Thanet RC 01:04:16
Simon Henderson Thanet RC 00:57:14
Oliver Robinson Thanet RC DNS
Colin Robinson Thanet RC DNS
Andy Burrows Thanet RC DNF(p)

The next 25 will be on Thanet Way on the 13th September where members can challenge for the Consolation Cup (fastest riders who has not taken other awards this season).

If you are not riding please consider marshalling – As a club we have committed to provide 9 marshals for the event

If you are able to help for this event on the Thanet Way (07:30) please put you name forward to either Ian or myself

Post from Simon Henderson