RTTC Championships Time Trial held at Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit for the 6th addition of the event. Hosted by Antelope RT. With 410 riders on the start sheet, like the National 25 this event had a very strong field again with several professional riders attending. This event also uses transponders for timing, giving riders times to the 100th of a second.

The course is held on the Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit, all riders complete 5 laps of the circuit which totals 11.5 miles of racing. Being a motor racing circuit, it’s closed off from all traffic and is wide sweeping road with only two chicanes which don’t pose much challenge on a bike, and a rise on the end section of the lap which drags during the race.

The weather conditions were dry and a bit chilly around 11C with a easterly wind meant a head wind along the starting straight and the hill.

Thanet Road Club was only represented by Nic Fennell as a first claim member. Chris Fennell and Alex Clay as second claim members riding for the Independent Pedlar.

Nic Fennell finished with a time of 23:22 which placed him 17th overall, a good result placing in the top 20 again.

Second claim member Alex Clay finished in a time of 25:14, which placed her 3rd overall in the women’s field, well done Alex.

Chris Fennell had a strong ride finishing in 21:36, placing him 2nd overall, well done Chris.

The winner of the event was John Archibald (Ribble Pro Cycling) – 21:06

2nd – Chris Fennell (The Independent Pedlar) – 21:36

3rd – Simon Wilson (Ribble Pro Cycling) – 21:53

Women’s winner was Katie Archibald (Dooley RT) – 24:06

2nd – Emily Meakin (The Independent Pedlar) – 24:31

3rd – Alex Clay (The Independent Pedlar) – 25:14

Other local riders included:

Nick Wilson (Rye District Wheelers) – 24:51

Josh Clarke (Royal Air Force) – 25:14

Post from Nic Fennell