The final RTTC Championships Time Trial event of the season concludes for the 5th time at Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit for the Closed Circuit Championship. Hosted by Antelope RT. With 280 riders on the start sheet, including 55 juniors, 45 women and very strong field 180 men. This event also uses transponders for timing.

The course is held on the Thruxton Motor Racing Circuit, all riders complete 5 laps of the circuit which totals 11.5 miles of racing. Being a motor racing circuit, it’s closed off from all traffic and is wide sweeping road with only two chicanes which don’t pose much challenge on a bike, and a rise on the end section of the lap which drags during the race.

The weather conditions were cold and misty for the juniors and early starting women but warmed up with the sun coming out for the men. There wasn’t much of a wind which meant no real help around the course.

Thanet Road Club had two members, and two second claim members at this event; Adrian Hawkins and Nic Fennell. Seb Dickson and Chris Fennell second claim.

Finish times in start order:
Seb Dickson: 24:03 – 22nd
Adrian Hawkins: 25:49 – 68th
Nic Fennell: 23:12 – 5th
Chris Fennell: 22:30 – 2nd

The event was won by Pro rider Marcin Bialoblocki with a time of 22:03. 2nd – Chris Fennell – 22:30 – (2nd claim) The Independent Pedaler. 3rd – Gary Chambers – 22:47 – NoPinz

Other local riders include: Emma Lewis (The Independent Pedaler) won the women’s event for the 3rd year in a row with a time of 24:46.

Post by Nic Fennell