Report based on provisional results only.

Apologies for any omissions/ errors.

10 1st claim riders from Thanet Road Club were entered in the first 25 mile open time trial in Kent this year.

They were joined by several 2nd claim members making up a field of 115 riders.

Great that we had so many riders well spread across the field.

Thanks to Le Anh Luong, Catford CC and all the helpers and marshals who turned out to run a well organised event.

Conditions were variable. It was dry and slightly warm with a stiff breeze from the south west. I thought the leg up to Kingsnorth would be assisted by the wind and harder on the way back. As it turned out the wind did not seem to give much assistance to Ashford but was not as hard as expected on the way back except where you approached Brenzett RAB.

We had a family affair with Paul Burrows, riding in his first competitive 25 for a while, started by his mum Christine who was start time keeper, chasing dad Andy.

New dad Rob Milnes took the day off, no doubt a busy time at home.

Fastest Thanet rider was Nic Fennell with a very fast 50:57 picking up 2nd place behind his brother Chris Fennell (Independent Pedalers Nopinz) who took 1st with 47:10, taking nearly 3 minutes off his previous course record – fantastic times.

Our very own Sophie Driscoll was 5th with a 01:06:09.

Second claim rider Emma Lewis (Independent Pedalers- Nopinz) was the fastest with 54:23, taking the course record as well by more than 4 minutes (I think) – epic.

As a very late starter, I didn’t manage to catch anyone after the event to find out their views except Andy Burrows and discuss our usual excuses:

Andy -it was windy coming from everywhere

Simon- too many combine harvesters taking up the whole road

Adrian – It’s been a ‘wurd’ year

TRC 1st claim results, start order:

Colin Inett 01:14:14

Andy Burrows 01:13:03

Paul Burrows 55:17

Adrian Hawkins 57:47

Rob Milnes DNS

Chris Bax 01:04:56

Bill Hawkes DNS

Sophie Driscoll 01:06:09

Nick Fennell 50:57

Simon Henderson 57:28

TRC 2nd claim results, start order:

Mark Hill (VeloRefined Rule 5) DNS

Alex Clay (Independent Pedalers- Nopinz) 01:07:05

Stephen Wilkinson (TWB – On Time Race Team ) 57:14

Danny Frost (Folkestone Velo Club) 01: 04:00

Colin Newton (Deal Tri) 57:30

Robert Nicholas (Deal Tri) 54:52

Emma Lewis (Independent Pedalers- Nopinz) 54:23

Tracy Wilkinson Begg (TWB – On Time Race Team)DNS

Chris Fennell (Independent Pedlars- Nopinz) 47:10

Simon H.